Skip to content
Nib&Notebook

Independent. We sell nothing. Prices come from the retailer, live.

Paper

The best graph paper notebooks

Graph paper is bought on one number nobody publishes: how far apart the lines are. Five millimeters and four millimeters are different products, and only one maker here says which you are getting.

A notebook page of graph paper with a fountain pen

How this page is funded. Buying through a link here earns us a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order we recommend it in, and we have not hands-on tested these products — see how we choose and the full disclosure.

Graph paper is the ruling people buy for a reason rather than a preference. Diagrams, calculations, tables, plans, handwriting that needs to stay straight without lines dictating a height - the grid does work that ruled lines cannot.

It is also the ruling where one specification matters more than anything else and is hardest to find: the spacing of the squares. A 5 mm grid and a 4 mm grid are not the same product, and most listings do not tell you which is in the box.

Grid spacing, and why it decides everything

The square size sets how large you can comfortably write and how much detail a diagram can carry. Roughly:

What grid spacing does to a page
SpacingSuitsAgainst it
4 mm and belowDense diagrams, technical work, very small handwritingMost handwriting will not fit one letter per square
5 mmThe Japanese standard. Handwriting at two squares per line, diagrams still preciseSlightly busy behind prose
7 - 8 mmHandwriting first, grid as a guideToo coarse for detailed drawing
What grid spacing does to a page

Five millimeters is the safe default and the one most Japanese notebooks use. If you are buying for handwriting rather than drawing, and the listing does not state a spacing, that uncertainty is a real risk.

How we ranked these

  • A published grid spacing first, because it is the specification the ruling exists for. One of six states it.
  • Then published paper weight, as everywhere on this site.
  • Then binding, because graph paper is disproportionately used flat on a desk for drawing, where a book that will not open flat is a real obstacle.
  • Then format - pad or bound, and whether the pages are meant to leave.
  • No hands-on testing. Detail pages were unreadable this run, so the specs below are the ones each listing title states.

The notebooks

Quick picks

Ranked for the beginner buying their first setup. Every pick names who it is wrong for.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Rhodia No. 16 pad, A5 squared

Rhodia No. 16 pad, A5 squared

Rhodia's A5 pad in squared ruling - the graph paper most people mean when they say graph paper, at the lowest price here.

The default graph pad
$7.56 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

2
Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm grid

Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm grid

The one notebook here whose listing states the grid spacing - 5 mm - on paper this site already covers at 80 g/m2 in its ruled sibling.

A published grid spacing
$7.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

3
Clairefontaine wirebound notebook, graph

Clairefontaine wirebound notebook, graph

Ninety sheets of Clairefontaine graph paper on a wire binding, which is the one binding that lies completely flat.

Graph paper that folds all the way back
$15.25 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

4
Life Noble Note A5, grid

Life Noble Note A5, grid

A quiet Japanese notebook with cream paper and a reputation among fountain pen users that its own listing never claims.

Japanese paper in a plain, serious book
$16.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

5
Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph

Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph

Soft rubber rings, a plastic front cover and 140 pages of graph paper for the least money on this page - with a listed size that does not match other B6 notebooks.

A B6 that folds back on itself, for writing standing up
$7.99 · View on Amazon

$8.99 11% off

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

6
Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid

Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid

68 gsm Tomoe River FP paper, thread-sewn to lie flat, with every figure that matters published on the listing.

The best-documented B6 notebook we found
$19.10 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Rhodia No. 16 pad, A5 squared

1. The default graph pad

Rhodia No. 16 pad, A5 squared

Rhodia's A5 pad in squared ruling - the graph paper most people mean when they say graph paper, at the lowest price here.

$7.56 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

This is the squared version of the No. 16 dot pad this site already covers, in the same format: stapled at the head, perforated, orange card cover.

Rhodia does not state a paper weight or a grid spacing on this listing, which is frustrating for a brand whose paper is the reason to buy it. The Rhodia profile covers what the range does state elsewhere.

A pad is for pages that leave. If you want the same paper in a book you keep, the Webnotebook is the bound version.

Published specifications for the Rhodia No. 16 pad, A5 squared
SizeNo. 16 (A5)Source: Rhodia Notepad No. 16 A5, squared (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
RulingSquaredSource: Rhodia Notepad No. 16 A5, squared (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
CoverOrange cardSource: Rhodia Notepad No. 16 A5, squared (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
Paper weightNot published
Sheet countNot published
Grid spacingNot published

What it does well

  • The cheapest way into Rhodia's paper
  • Perforated, so pages come out cleanly
  • Squared ruling in the most useful desk size

What it does not

  • No paper weight or grid spacing published
  • A pad, not a book - nothing holds torn pages
  • Card cover offers no protection in a bag

Skip this if you want to keep what you write in order. A perforated pad invites tearing, and a bound grid notebook is the opposite purchase.

Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm grid

2. A published grid spacing

Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm grid

The one notebook here whose listing states the grid spacing - 5 mm - on paper this site already covers at 80 g/m2 in its ruled sibling.

$7.99 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Grid spacing is the specification graph-paper buyers most want and almost nobody publishes. Maruman states 5 mm here, which is the standard Japanese square and tight enough for diagrams without being unusable for handwriting.

The paper is the Mnemosyne stock this site covers elsewhere, where the ruled A5 listing publishes 80 g/m2. This listing does not repeat that figure, so it is marked not published rather than carried across.

Spiral binding again: folds flat, obstructs a hand on one side. The dot grid roundup covers the same range in dots if a grid is too busy for you.

Published specifications for the Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm grid
Grid spacing5 mmSource: Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm college grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
SizeA5, 5.83" x 8.27"Source: Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm college grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
BindingSpiralSource: Maruman Mnemosyne A5, 5 mm college grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-21)
Paper weight on this listingNot published
Sheet countNot published

What it does well

  • States its grid spacing, which is rare
  • Folds completely flat
  • Japanese paper at a low price

What it does not

  • This listing does not state the paper weight
  • Spiral obstructs one side of every spread
  • Sheet count not published

Skip this if you want a book that closes flat in a bag. A spiral catches on everything, and a stapled pad or bound notebook travels better.

Clairefontaine wirebound notebook, graph

3. Graph paper that folds all the way back

Clairefontaine wirebound notebook, graph

Ninety sheets of Clairefontaine graph paper on a wire binding, which is the one binding that lies completely flat.

$15.25 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Ninety sheets is a lot of graph paper, and a wire binding is the only one that folds back on itself completely - which matters when you are working on a small desk or holding the book.

Clairefontaine's paper is the reason to buy it, and this listing does not state its weight. The Clairefontaine profile covers the figures the brand publishes on the books that do state them.

The wire is also the drawback: it obstructs your hand on one side of every spread, which a left-hander meets on the opposite page to a right-hander.

What it does well

  • Folds completely flat and back on itself
  • 90 sheets, the highest count here
  • Clairefontaine paper in a graph ruling

What it does not

  • No paper weight or grid spacing published
  • The wire obstructs one side of every spread
  • Assorted cover colors, so you cannot choose

Skip this if the notebook has to look tidy on a shelf. A wirebound book is a working tool, and the bound Age Bag is the same paper in a book you would keep.

Life Noble Note A5, grid

4. Japanese paper in a plain, serious book

Life Noble Note A5, grid

A quiet Japanese notebook with cream paper and a reputation among fountain pen users that its own listing never claims.

$16.00 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Life publishes almost nothing about this notebook, which is itself informative: the company sells it on the writing rather than on the specification.

What its listing does say is that fountain pen ink does not bleed or bleed through on the paper used in the main range.

It is a plain object with a paper cover. If you want ribbon markers and an elastic band, this is not that.

Published specifications for the Life Noble Note A5, grid
FormatA5, grid ruled (N33)Source: Life Noble Note A5, grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-01)
Paper weightNot published
Also availableRuled (N39) and plain (N36) in the same A5 formatSource: Life Noble Note A5, plain (retail listing, read 2026-09-01)
Numbered pagesNot published

What it does well

  • Well regarded Japanese writing paper
  • Three rulings in the same format
  • Understated to the point of invisible

What it does not

  • Almost nothing is published about the paper
  • Softcover with no protection
  • Harder to find than the mainstream brands

Skip this if you need a published specification, or if you want a hardcover journal.

Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph

5. A B6 that folds back on itself, for writing standing up

Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph

Soft rubber rings, a plastic front cover and 140 pages of graph paper for the least money on this page - with a listed size that does not match other B6 notebooks.

$7.99 · View on Amazon

$8.99 11% off

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Start with the size, because it is the odd one. The listing calls this B6 and gives 4.1 by 7.2 inches. Three other B6 notebooks on this page publish 5.04 inches wide. We cannot tell from the listing whether the page really is that narrow or the figure is a listing error, so if width matters to you, check before you buy.

The rings are the reason to consider it. Rubber rings do not snag a bag or dig into your hand, and a ring binding is the only one that folds completely back - which at B6 means writing one-handed, standing up, holding the book in the other hand.

Kokuyo claims the paper is bleed-resistant and suitable for fountain pens but publishes no weight, so the claim is a claim. The kind of paper Kokuyo makes is covered on the B5 notebook page, where its Campus books appear.

Published specifications for the Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph
SizeListed as B6, 4.1" x 7.2"Source: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Extent70 double-sided sheets (140 pages)Source: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Ruling5 mm graphSource: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
BindingFlexible rubber rings; folds back 360 degreesSource: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
CoverPVC plastic front cover, kraft board back, elastic bandSource: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Maker's pen claimBleed-resistant paper, stated suitable for fountain pens, markers and highlightersSource: Kokuyo Penott B6 soft ring notebook, graph (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Paper weightNot published

What it does well

  • The least expensive notebook on this page
  • Folds completely flat and back on itself
  • 140 pages, second only to the Tomoe River B6 among the undated notebooks here

What it does not

  • Listed dimensions do not match other B6 notebooks
  • No paper weight published
  • Rings obstruct one side of every spread

Skip this if you want the book to look like a journal on a shelf. A plastic-covered ring notebook is a working tool, and the thread-sewn Tomoe River B6 is the one to keep.

Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid

6. The best-documented B6 notebook we found

Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid

68 gsm Tomoe River FP paper, thread-sewn to lie flat, with every figure that matters published on the listing.

$19.10 · View on Amazon

#ad Price as of October 18, 2026. How this is funded

Almost nothing about this notebook is left to trust. The listing states the paper, the grade, the exact dimensions, the sheet count, the ruling and the binding, which puts it ahead of every other B6 we looked at.

It is worth reading the weight carefully: 68 gsm. The Tomoe River FP notebook this site covers at A5 publishes 52 g/m2, so this is a heavier grade of the same paper family rather than the famously thin one. The maker does not explain the difference, and we are not going to guess at it - the Tomoe River profile covers what the thin grade does.

The sub-dot grid is a detail with a stated purpose: the maker says printing lines as dots evens out ink absorption where the nib crosses them. That is a claim rather than a measurement, and we are recording it as one.

Published specifications for the Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid
Paper68 gsm SANZEN Tomoe River FP paper, whiteSource: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Size182 x 128 mm (7.17" x 5.04")Source: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Extent160 pages (80 sheets)Source: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Ruling5 mm square grid in light indigo, printed as microscopic sub-dotsSource: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
BindingThread-sewn, lays flatSource: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
CoverFlexible matte black soft coverSource: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)
Made bySANZEN, in Japan; described by the listing as successor to Tomoegawa's original Tomoe River FP paperSource: Tomoe River FP Notebook B6, square grid (retail listing, read 2026-09-16)

What it does well

  • Paper, dimensions, extent and binding all published
  • Thread-sewn, and stated to lie flat
  • Paper designed specifically for fountain pens, per the maker

What it does not

  • Soft cover offers little protection in a bag
  • Grid only on this listing; the unruled version publishes almost nothing
  • 68 gsm, not the 52 g/m2 grade the Tomoe River name is best known for

Skip this if you specifically want the famously thin 52 g/m2 Tomoe River. This listing states 68 gsm, and the A5 FP notebook is the one that publishes the thin grade.

Graph, grid, squared and quad ruled

Four words for approximately the same thing, which is part of why this category is confusing to shop.

Squared and graph are used interchangeably by European makers - Rhodia calls the same ruling by both names across its range. Grid is the more common word in Japanese listings. Quad ruled is a North American term, usually meaning four squares to the inch, which works out at roughly 6 mm.

The practical consequence: do not assume a quad ruled American notebook and a 5 mm Japanese grid are the same page. They are not, and the difference is large enough to change whether your handwriting fits.

Graph against dot grid

These two rulings solve overlapping problems, and most people should own one rather than both.

Which ruling suits which work
If you areChooseWhy
Drawing diagrams, plans, circuitsGraphContinuous lines let you follow an edge across the page.
Writing prose with occasional structureDot gridDots guide without printing a cage behind your writing.
Doing calculations, keeping columnsGraphColumns line up without effort.
Photographing the pageDot gridDots largely disappear; a grid does not.
Which ruling suits which work

If the answer is dot grid, the dot grid roundup ranks those on published dot spacing and weight. This page exists for the case where you genuinely want lines.

Pad or bound?

Graph paper is used for disposable work more often than other rulings - a calculation, a sketch of a layout, a diagram you hand to someone - which makes a perforated pad a better fit than most people expect.

Buy a pad if the pages are meant to leave, a wirebound book if it will lie open on a desk while you work from it, and a bound book only if you are keeping the contents in order. The notebook sizes guide covers the format question more broadly.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best graph paper notebook for fountain pens?

On published specification, the Maruman Mnemosyne A5 - it is the only one here whose listing states its grid spacing (5 mm), on paper the ruled version of which publishes 80 g/m2. The Rhodia No. 16 squared pad is the cheapest good option.

What grid spacing should I buy?

Five millimeters for most people - the Japanese standard, fine enough for diagrams and workable for handwriting at two squares per line. Four millimeters and below suits technical drawing and very small writing; 7 to 8 mm is for handwriting with the grid as a guide.

Is graph paper the same as quad ruled?

Not exactly. Quad ruled is a North American term usually meaning four squares to the inch, roughly 6 mm. Squared, graph and grid are used more loosely, so check for a stated millimeter figure rather than trusting the word.

Graph paper or dot grid?

Graph if you draw diagrams, keep columns or follow edges across a page. Dot grid if you mostly write prose and want guidance without a printed cage behind it - dots also largely disappear in a photograph, where a grid does not.

Do graph notebooks bleed with fountain pens?

The ruling has nothing to do with it - paper weight and sizing decide bleed-through. Several notebooks here publish no weight at all, which is the honest weakness of this category.

Sources